[Idea] ShapeShift's Exchange-Independent Bridge to Mainnet

Alright, this is my first attempt at thinking of a DeFi product/service so I have no idea if it’s the dumbest idea in the world, but it’s been circling in my head for days now so I had to put it down on paper (or graphic in this case).

Tell me why it wouldn’t work or would be very dumb and/or inefficient (seriously). Or am I getting the hang of this DeFi thing? 1f609

https://global.discourse-cdn.com/standard10/uploads/foxcookieco/optimized/1X/c5d3f2909959ab4a533e6d2871db37a183e1f055_2_465x500.png

Sorry if this is the wrong category for this, but I thought that eventually having our own bridge instead of relying on other exchanges/L2 networks would be safe for “true decentralization.”

Actually, i brought up something similar a few days ago, wanting Shapeshift to do. (i have no tech knowledge around it) but playing with the diff Bridges etc. I would have user feedback. (ie: do this! its nice) look at honey interface, it shows the top 4 other routes you can use, and whats the actual difference. (so my push/vote would be for the dao to build a bridge(network) that connects to ALL of the chains) (be kinda nice if we just input what we have, and what we want, and it connects us the lowest cost way)

(so Your on Honey, with Dai, and you want to get Matic on Polygon) 2 chain connection (at least) but if we have setup the 'Island" that all the bridges connect to.

Hahah, well then it comes down to decentralization, and whether trusting one centralized source (the DAO foundation in this case, I suppose). It’s one thing to support a bridge of one asset, but its a whole new world when you’re trying to do multi-chain and multi-assets. But add in X number of validators with a lot to lose if playing naughty, then we’re on to something…

Nice diagram! I don’t follow closely enough to be able to give feedback, but am curious to understand what you’re envisioning. Step 3 is where I get lost.