ShapeShift DAO: A Beginner’s Point of View and Useful Tips

Hi, my name is ValtheDad

1. ,

As a newbie in any DAO, it might be a challenge to get started. A plethora of new information and meeting new people can be intimidating to those, who have never had any experience with this type of project. I found myself in this exact position when my journey at the ShapeShift DAO began, therefore I decided to share some general advice to fellow DAO beginners.

I come from a non-finance and non-tech-related background, so exploring the DAO Defi universe is a great journey, which I am taking with an open heart and full of enthusiasm. With 15 years of experience in International FMCG companies, I have extensive knowledge of what a good company looks like and more importantly what changes and improvements traditional companies could make. In a DAO, everyone is heard, substantial decisions are made by the community unlike corporate decision making where top management are responsible for majority of decisions. My key driver in exploring the ShapeShift DAO was to learn the best way to build something meaningful and sustainable; making our world a better place with one good decision at a time.

Here are 4 tips from my side on how to get started:

Firstly, I would highly recommend researching the DAO’s goals and values. Many users state that working on something that projects your personal interests tends to be far more productive than investing your time in a project that does not share your views. The best way to explore the DAO, other than to use its product, is to join the community on social networks like Discord, Twitter or Reddit. Newbies can find newsletters, active proposals and features that are already working and most importantly, talk to experienced users.The community is also welcome and encouraged in joining the various weekly community calls where the DAO governance and other projects are being discussed, this way you truly get to know the DAO.